School Logo

Bearbrook Combined School

An Academy of the Great Learners Trust


Governor Committee Information

Information for Bearbrook Governing Board 2023-2024

Total number of Governors in September 2023 is 11 members

Co-Chair of Governors: Siew-Yen Tew & Drew Cowburn

1 x Head Teacher: Marcus Faulkner

2 x Staff Governor: Katie Smith & Sarita Pullen

2 x Parent Governors: Siew-Yen Tew and Drew Cowburn

4 x Community Governors: Kevin Hardern, Greg Turner, Lesley Yates and Julie Atkins

The remit of the Governing Body:

  • Setting the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction;

  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent


We have structured our committees to reflect this overall remit:

  • Local Governing Board Curriculum meeting (Drew Cowburn) - This meeting also overs standards and any urgent other governor business.

  • Local Governing Board Resources / Health & Safety and Pay and Personnel (Co-chaired by: Greg Turner and Kevin Hardern) – This meeting also covers any other urgent governor business.

  • Local Governing Board – this meeting captures all governor responsibilities outside of the above two meetings remit.