School Logo

Bearbrook Combined School

An Academy of the Great Learners Trust


Areas of Early Learning

At the end of the school year the children will be assessed according to the Early Learning Goals.


The 17 areas include:


Communication and Language

ELG: Listening, Attention and Understanding

ELG: Speaking


Personal, Social and Emotional Development

ELG: Self-Regulation

ELG: Managing Self

ELG: Building Relationships


Physical Development

ELG: Gross Motor Skills

ELG: Fine Motor Skills



ELG: Comprehension      

ELG: Word Reading

ELG: Writing



ELG: Number

ELG: Numerical Patterns


Understanding the World

ELG: Past and Present

ELG: People, Culture and Communities

ELG: The Natural World


Expressive Arts and Design

ELG: Creating with Materials

ELG: Being Imaginative and Expressive